I've been working off-and-on with stories for this particular universe for years. I first came up with the idea of  the "Eric and Alison" series in sixth grade, and the first iteration of "In Bocca al Lupo" was a 70+ page scattered mess involving werewolves, the Illuminati, and inexplicable haunted televisions. 

(I never claimed I was a good writer when I was younger.)

I revisited the idea about a year ago when I found an old print-out of that first manuscript, and worked to refine the story until it completely reworked into something readable. I always imagined "In Bocca al Lupo" as the first of a series of books for young adult readers, a fantasy story arching across many chapters and visiting on folklore, mythology and urban legends both obscure and well-known. While sketching out a skeleton summary for this first book, I found ideas popping up for second and third volumes that I find myself extremely excited to refine into stories all their own. 

I'll be posting rough drafts of chapters, as well as bits of mythology behind the ideas in the story. For this entry, here's a little trivia behind the book's title:

"In Bocca al Lupo" is Italian for "in the mouth of the wolf", a wish for good luck. The traditional answer is "il crepe lupo!" - "I wish it would die!". The phrase is a negative-positive wish for luck, just like the English "break a leg!". 



Leave a Reply.